Today California became only the second state in the nation to require employers to provide paid sick leave for workers. Governor Jerry Brown signed into law the landmark Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014 or SB 1522. Currently, 6.5 million California workers or 40 percent of the workforce cannot take a paid day off when they are ill or to care for a sick family member.
“Whether you’re a dishwasher in San Diego or a store clerk in Oakland, this bill frees you of having to choose between your family’s health and your job,” said Governor Brown in a news release. “Make no mistake, California is putting its workers first.”
Specifically, the bill requires employers to provide up to three paid sick days for those who work at least 30 days in a year. Also, employees will earn a minimum of one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked. The Healthy Workplaces, Healthy Families Act of 2014 will go into effect next July.